No.384 (i Salmer Underveis) av Syl­van­us D. Phelps (1862) oversatt av Trygve Bjerkreim

«but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.» Rom.5:8

 1. Frelsar, til korsets død elska du meg.

Skulle eg ikkje då alt gjeva deg?
Fyll du mitt hjarta så at eg av kjærleik må
Jublande ofra få noko for deg!

2. Ved nådetrona no ber du for meg.
Mi veike tru ser opp, Jesus, til deg.
Hjelp at eg korset ber, i liv og tonar her
Eit lite vitne er – noko for deg!

3. Å, må eg likna deg! Eg lengtar så.
Må kvar ein dag som døyr heretter sjå
At noko frukt du fann, at eg med kjærleg hand
Nokon for himlen vann – nokon for deg!

4. Alt det eg er og har, gav du meg fritt.
Må det i fryd og sorg no vera ditt!
Og når eg deg får sjå, kor skal eg jubla då,
Og evig vera få saman med deg!

Original lyrics in English:

1. Savior, Thy dying love Thou gavest me.

Nor should I aught withhold, dear Lord, from Thee.
In love my soul would bow, my heart fulfill its vow,
Some offering bring Thee now, something for Thee.

2. O’er the blest mercy seat, pleading for me,
My feeble faith looks up, Jesus, to Thee.
Help me the cross to bear, Thy wondrous love declare,
Some song to raise, or prayer, something for Thee.

3. Give me a faithful heart, likeness to Thee.
That each departing day henceforth may see
Some work of love begun, some deed of kindness done,
Some wanderer sought and won, something for Thee.

4. All that I am and have, Thy gifts so free,
In joy, in grief, through life, O Lord, for Thee!
And when Thy face I see, my ransomed soul shall be
Through all eternity, something for Thee.

Dette innlegget ble publisert i Norway. Bokmerk permalenken.

Legg igjen en kommentar

