No. 646 by Geo. D. Mackay

«My Beloved is mine, and I am His.» – Songs of Solomon 2:16

1. Jesus, Beloved of my heart,
Thy grace I earnestly implore;
Oh, if Thou wilt the gift impart,
I´ll use it but to love Thee more.

Let others dream of jewell´d walls,
Of golden cities fair to see;
No glorious scene my soul enthralls,
Where´er Thou art is heav´n for me.

2. The brightest forms of earthly love
Are dull besides Thine own to me;
With wistful eyes I look above,
And wonder when Thy face I´ll see.

3. Though Paradise has many joys,
And flow´rs of beauty fair to see,
Not gates of pearl nor angel´s voice
Shall thrill my soul like love of Thee.

4. Without Thee no celestial light
Shall shine to make my soul content;
But with Thee this sad earth is bright,
And glows with joy from heaven lent.

Dette innlegget ble publisert i Norway, Oslo og merket med , , , . Bokmerk permalenken.

Legg igjen en kommentar

