Starvation for God´s glory

«We are all starved for the glory of God, not self. No one goes to the Grand Canyon to increase self-esteem. Why do we go? Because there is greater healing for the soul in beholding splendor than there is in beholding self. Indeed, what could be more ludicrous in a vast and glorious universe like this than a human being, on the speck called earth, standing in front of a mirror trying to find significance in his own self-image? It is a great sadness that this is the gospel of the modern world.» – John Piper

I love this quote, because it puts things into perspective. I really do need to get things into perspective anew every day. I want to see God and His glory, not being caught up in my own small worries and frustrations.

I am here in Oslo, taking a Bachelors Dregree in Social Work for God; not for myself or my own pleasure. God wants me to enjoy what He has me to do, but at the same time He wants me to follow Him in the days when I find it easy and in the days when it´s hard, and when i´t´s the last thing my flesh wants. But it truly does feel good when Christmas holiday finally comes along 🙂

First semester is over, one and only exam is handed in, and I´m enjoying the first day of Christmas break. And I can´t wait to go home and enjoy the beauty and glory of the Lord that surrounds me in my little hometown. Praise God!

Quote | Dette innlegget ble publisert i Oslo og merket med , , , . Bokmerk permalenken.

Legg igjen en kommentar

